Lurgan Rugby and the Provincial Town’s Cup

This afternoon our first XV take on Banbridge RFC at Rifle Park in the Provincial Town’s Cup

The Ulster Provincial Towns Cup is a rugby union competition organized by the Ulster branch of the Irish Rugby Football Union.

It is confined to teams outside of Belfast. Since the resumption of play after World War II, where a town is represented by a senior club, their second team is the one that competes.

The Final is traditionally played on Easter Monday at Ravenhill / Kingspan.

The most successful club is Dungannon with 20 wins (19 outright wins and 1 shared win). The trophy is currently held by Ballyclare RFC.

The Club have a proud history in the Provincial Towns Cup.

Lurgan Rugby have won it on no fewer than on 6 occasions.

Additionally, they were beaten in four Provincial Towns Cup Finals.

Provincial Town’s Cup Winners

1922 Lurgan 6-0 Larne

1925 Lurgan 11-4 Larne

1926 Lurgan 17-8 Donaghadee

1952 Lurgan 11-3 Armagh

1955 Lurgan 3-0 Strabane

1958 Lurgan 11-3 Donaghadee

Provincial Town’s Cup Finalists

1928 Ballymena 3-0 Lurgan

1950 Dungannon 5-3 Lurgan

1956 Bangor 11-6 Lurgan

1959 Portadown 11-0 Lurgan

The Management Committee and all of our club members wish the first XV the best of luck for this afternoon.

May the winner be rugby.